RSS Feed

Misreading the Road Signs in Life

I guess you can say I’ve always been geographically challenged the first time I drive to a new place.  Once I find it, my photographic memory will bring me back time after time.  However, sometimes the anticipation of arriving causes me to jump the gun, misreading road signs, causing me to regularly get off on the wrong exit.

For we live by faith, not by sight. – 2 Corinthians 5:7

The night before I met my wife for the very first time, I was on my way to a regional conference in Chicago.  Unfamiliar with the area, I wasn’t sure which exit to take.  Not afraid to ask for directions, I got off trying to find a convenience store or gas station to point me in the right direction.  Instead, I drove into what I thought was a development, actually one of the projects.  Before I could roll my window down, I found myself in the middle of a movie, about the get car jacked.  Whether it was the Holy Spirit or mere instincts, I gunned my engine, almost took out 2 people and fled as fast as I could back to the main highway.

Your word is a lamp for my feet, a light on my path. – Psalm 119:105

Fortunately for me, I escaped a life altering experience, similar to the events of Robert Allenby’s brush with death last weekend in Hawaii.  Every know and then, we all happen to be in the wrong place at the wrong time.  Subsequently, death can result like an incident bystander struck by a drunk driver.  Thus, trying to make sense of life’s bizarre circumstances is nearly impossible.  Nonetheless, when roadblocks send you in an alternate or different direction, open life’s road map, the Bible, to help you get you back on course.

by Jay Mankus

 

Leave a Reply

