RSS Feed

The Lie-Oh-Meter

In politics, the experts, life long politicians and successful campaign managers have suggested lying is all part of the game.  Little white lies are like wild cards in poker, waiting for just the right moment to be played.  While this style may work in the corporate world, sooner or later, what comes around goes around.  When this moment arrives, the Lie-Oh-Meter will expose the shady for their untruthful ways.

I hate and detest falsehood but I love your law. – Psalm 119:163

As for parents and teachers, a face to face encounter, staring a suspect in the eye is a good starting point.  Based upon the television series on Fox, Lie To Me, which aired for two full seasons beginning in 2009, liars tend to demonstrate facial expressions.  Thus, law enforcement officials use this science based upon research done by Paul Ekman, a professor emeritus of psychology at the University of California in San Francisco.  Instead of relying on out dated polygraph tests, body language has become the new Lie-Oh-Meter.

Lying lips are an abomination to the Lord, but those who act faithfully are his delight. – Proverbs 12:22

From God’s perspective, a false witness is a punishable offense, Proverbs 19:9.  Going one step farther, deceitful ways can result in being excommunicated from part of God’s family, Psalm 101:7.  Yet, Christians alike have embraced the practice of embellishment, creating a society of hypocrites.  The only way to break free from this addiction is to cherish God’s law.  Only when this is achieved will souls begin to love God’s commands like the Psalmists of old.  Until this day, rely on the Bible to ascertain truth from fiction, serving as a modern day Lie-Oh-Meter.

by Jay Mankus

 

11 responses »

  1. Hey there! I could have sworn I’ve been to this blog before but after checking through some of the post I realized it’s new
    to me. Anyways, I’m definitely happy I found it and I’ll be bookmarking and checking back frequently!

    Like

    Reply
  2. You really make it appear so easy with your presentation however I in finding this matter to be really something which I feel I might never understand.
    It seems too complicated and very large for me. I’m looking ahead on your next publish, I will attempt to get the hold of it!

    Like

    Reply
  3. Excellent post. Keep writing such kind of info on your site.
    Im really impressed by it.
    Hey there, You have performed an incredible job.
    I’ll certainly digg it and in my opinion recommend to my friends.

    I am confident they’ll be benefited from this website.

    Like

    Reply
  4. I have to thank you for the efforts you have put in penning this blog.
    I am hoping to see the same high-grade content by you in the future as well.
    In truth, your creative writing abilities has inspired me to get my own, personal website now
    😉

    Like

    Reply
  5. I’m impressed, I have to admit. Rarely do I encounter a blog that’s both educative and amusing, and without a doubt, you have hit the nail on the
    head. The issue is something that not enough men and women are speaking intelligently about.

    I am very happy that I came across this in my search for
    something regarding this.

    Like

    Reply
  6. This is the right blog for anyone who really wants to find out about this
    topic. You understand a whole lot its almost hard to argue with you (not that I personally would
    want to…HaHa). You definitely put a fresh spin on a topic
    that’s been written about for years. Wonderful stuff, just excellent!

    Like

    Reply
  7. Good day! Do you use Twitter? I’d like to follow you if that would be okay.
    I’m definitely enjoying your blog and look forward to new posts.

    Like

    Reply
  8. I don’t even know how I ended up here, but I thought this post was good.
    I do not know who you are but certainly you’re
    going to a famous blogger if you are not already 😉 Cheers!

    Like

    Reply
  9. Hey there! I’m at work surfing around your blog from my new iphone!
    Just wanted to say I love reading your blog and look forward to all your posts!
    Carry on the great work!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

