RSS Feed

Exposing the Advent of a Superficial Faith

As I listen to the content of my conversations and those around me, substance is usually lacking.  Instead of creating hunger or thirst for more, the topics I choose lack the flavor and seasoning Jesus expects his followers to discuss.  Thus, I often going days or weeks at times without experiencing heart to heart, meaningful or personal exchanges.

“You are the salt of the earth. But if the salt loses its saltiness, how can it be made salty again? It is no longer good for anything, except to be thrown out and trampled underfoot. – Matthew 5:13

Perhaps, the fault goes beyond my own inabilities to commune with individuals.  Answers can be traced back to the decline of Judeo-Christian values passed on over the past hundred years in America.  When churches, temples and houses of worship were the center of towns, you couldn’t escape hearing words from the Bible.  Yet, a trend toward minimizing the offensive words of the Scriptures has watered down truth, enabling educators to subvert the Word of God.

“Whoever acknowledges me before others, I will also acknowledge before my Father in heaven.  But whoever disowns me before others, I will disown before my Father in heaven.” – Matthew 10:32-33

Rather than carry on a heritage of faith, the desire to be liked, receive promotions and obtain positive press has bred a superficial faith.  Unfortunately, I find myself at the front of the line, afraid that my God won’t intervene.  Unless people begin to stand up, this decay will continue until Christianity is against the law like the days of Nero in Rome.  In these times, may the power of the Holy Spirit encourage warriors to stand up, Acts 4:29, to prevent a superficial faith.

by Jay Mankus

Leave a Reply

