RSS Feed

It’s Not a Matter of If… But When!

Back in 1991, Michael W. Smith sang about finding his Place in the World.  Sure, its a noble effort, yet the pessimistic didn’t want to get their hopes up only to be disappointed once again.  As for me, this concept was like a dream that didn’t seem achievable until I began to open up the Bible.

Teach me to do your will, for you are my God; may your good Spirit lead me on level ground. – Psalm 143:10

According to King David, discerning God’s will isn’t a matter of if, but when.  Prepared by countless hours in the fields as a shepherd, trusting the Lord was a daily occurrence providing grass for the herd, protection from wild animals and daily bread to survive.  Like a spiritual antenna, David learned to follow the Spirit of the living God, leading him to solid ground.

Do not conform to the pattern of this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind. Then you will be able to test and approve what God’s will is—his good, pleasing and perfect will. – Romans 12:2

Although I don’t have the faith of David, I am making progress, trusting that the work God began in me will be carried on to completion, Philippians 1:6.  Sure, I’ve had my doubts along the way and periods of darkness, unaware of my next step in life.  Even still, my soul finds comfort in writing as I try to find my place in this world.  I’m not there yet, but it’s not a matter of if, but when.

by Jay Mankus

Leave a Reply

