RSS Feed

A Class to Remember

Over the weekend I made my first venture down to Lynchburg, Virginia to see my niece graduate from Liberty University.   As I listened to Jeb Bush, the keynote speaker address the commencement crowd, I pondered about the hundreds of students I taught in high school over a decade.  After a couple of minutes I was drawn to a class to remember.

The apostles said to the Lord, “Increase our faith!”- Acts 17:5

Every so often a teacher encounters a classroom full of angels.  While each may be rough around the edges, inside hearts of gold set the tone for a special connection.  Back in 2005-2006, I had the pleasure to create my first Bible elective: Biblical Leadership.  Little did I know back then that those 13 individuals would make such an impact for God’s kingdom.

No distrust made him waver concerning the promise of God, but he grew strong in his faith as he gave glory to God, fully convinced that God was able to do what he had promised. – Romans 4:20-21

One of these students, Joseph Feeley went home to be with the Lord after a courageous battle with cancer.  Prior to this diagnosis, I was introduced to this warrior for Christ.  Joseph inspired his classmates to transform the spiritual climate at Red Lion Christian Academy.  Daily discussions turned into slices of heaven on earth as each student spurred one another on to leave a legacy of faith.  Although only 12 remain living today, I will always treasure the year I spent with this class to remember.

by Jay Mankus

 

Leave a Reply

