RSS Feed

Setting the Pace so that Others May Finish

On Sunday, I participated in my first alumni weekend at the University of Delaware.  In reality, I just ran in the Blue Hen 5K with my 3 children, the first with my daughter Lydia.  Out of shape, I vowed to stay with my daughter, setting a good pace to help her post her best time.  When Lydia stopped several times with a cramp, I encouraged her to keep going.

If either of them falls down, one can help the other up. But pity anyone who falls and has no one to help them up, Ecclesiastes 4:10.

The same could be said about life.  Trying to do things on your own or alone is difficult.  If you reach your breaking point, who will come along to spur you on?  As Benny Hester once sang about, “You weren’t meant to live your life alone.”  In view of this, people need to seek out mentors, role models and wise counsel to find their way in life.

Therefore, since we are surrounded by such a great cloud of witnesses, let us throw off everything that hinders and the sin that so easily entangles. And let us run with perseverance the race marked out for us, Hebrews 12:1.

If I wasn’t running today, I’m sure my daughter would have finished eventually, but my prompting resulted in her PR, personal record.  As a father, I need to do the same in my spiritual life, setting the pace for all my children to follow.  While spiritual aspirations may vary, godly parents should set the pace so that others may cross the finished line in heaven.

by Jay Mankus

Leave a Reply

