RSS Feed

A Love Beyond Comprehension

I must confess that I let the ways of the world get the best of me this past week.  Every time I watch cable news or listen to talk radio, I usually feel much worse than I did before I tuned in.  In addition, I tend to talk to the person on the other side, as if they can hear me, shouting out my beliefs and views.  In the end, the Lord doesn’t care what I, you or the media thinks as God is consumed with a love beyond comprehension.

“Suppose one of you has a hundred sheep and loses one of them. Doesn’t he leave the ninety-nine in the open country and go after the lost sheep until he finds it?” – Luke 15:4

Driving home from work early this morning, the first song I heard on the radio was David Crowder’s version of How He Loves Us.  By the time the chorus arrived, all of my frustrations disappeared.  At this moment, I realized how futile it is to try to prove tno others that you’re right and everyone else is wrong.  Regardless of how individuals act, behave and live out their life, God’s love is like a hurricane, blowing souls back home.

I tell you that in the same way there will be more rejoicing in heaven over one sinner who repents than over ninety-nine righteous persons who do not need to repent, Luke 15:7.

The parable of the Lost Sheep illustrates God’s amazing love.  Whether you are a prodigal child, wandering nomad looking for a church to call home or a troubled soul, God is willing to send angels across this planet to open your eyes and soften your heart to receive eternal life, Romans 10:9-10.  In view of this, the next time a co-worker, family member or neighbor get’s on your nerves, say a prayer so that one day each annoying person will embrace a love beyond comprehension.

by Jay Mankus

 

 

Leave a Reply

