RSS Feed

The Cost of Following Your Dreams

While most of the commercials that air today are filled with embellishment, there is one which possesses truth.  Mastercard’s ad campaign is based upon the fact that some purchases are priceless.  In the same manner, the cost of following your dreams is invaluable.

For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the LORD, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future, Jeremiah 29:11.

In an attempt to get ahead, keep up or fine tune your talents, time is the first expense.  This often means sacrificing friendships, investing each spare moment to perfect your gift or trade.  Along the way, some rising stars burn out, unable to devote what it takes to make their dream come true.  Unfortunately, most quit just before they begin to see the fruits of their labor.

Then you will call on me and come and pray to me, and I will listen to you, Jeremiah 29:12.

The second cost of following your dreams is belief.  Over the course of this journey, skeptics will continue to discourage you, claiming that you don’t have the skill or talent.  This is where you must possess perseverance, with a resilient heart to ward off spirits of doubt.  This is where I find myself currently, wondering if all the time I spent trying to write movie scripts is worth it all.  Yet, for now I press on.

Not that I have already obtained all this, or have already arrived at my goal, but I press on to take hold of that for which Christ Jesus took hold of me, Philippians 3:12.

Finally, the last cost of pursuing your dreams is pleasure.  As everyone you know is enjoying the weekend, having fun or lounging around the house, dreams can’t wait.  Thus, if you want to experience the fulfillment of your dreams, pleasure needs to be put on hold.  Although there is no magic formula, dedication, discipline and hard work are vehicles to success.  If you haven’t arrived or reached your goal in life, don’t give up until your journey is complete.

by Jay Mankus

 

 

One response »

  1. I needed to hear this – thank you…

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

