RSS Feed

Escaping the Realm of the Dead

Life and death, living and dying; celebrating the life of a new born baby or coping with the pain of a funeral.  This is the dilemma of the path on which life takes each individual down.  In the end, one question remains, how can you escape the realm of the dead?

Because you will not abandon me to the realm of the dead, you will not let your holy one see decay, Acts 2:27.

Over a two year period during my childhood, I began to experience a reoccurring nightmare.  Every evening I found myself falling from a cliff, gracefully skydiving until I realized I didn’t have a parachute.  Just before hitting the ground, I woke up, sweating and shaking.  I wasn’t sure why this pattern continued until I pondered the meaning of life.  “Where do we come from?  How did we magically arrive on earth?  It doesn’t make sense to be born to just die?  There must be something more, a place beyond the realm of the dead.”

I write these things to you who believe in the name of the Son of God so that you may know that you have eternal life, 1 John 5:13.

If anyone could shine light into this question, its John, the disciple whom Jesus loved.  Part of Jesus’ inner circle, John had several conversations not mentioned in the Bible.  In addition, Jesus took care of Mary the mother of Jesus until her death, likely uncovering incredible spiritual insights.  At the end of one of his letters, John reveals that you can know for sure about your eternal destination.  Therefore, if you want to escape the realm of death, follow the words of Romans 10:9-10 and you too can secure your reservation in heaven.

by Jay Mankus

Leave a Reply

