RSS Feed

Why Am I Watching This?

If I asked you the question, what are the first ten things you do when you get up, you may be caught off guard, only be able to recall a few things.  Yet, each morning people shave, shower, turn on the weather, read a blog or newspaper, check emails and charge their phone without much thought.  However, routines can become so ingrained within human beings that occasionally you have to stop yourself to ponder, “why am I doing this?”

The heart of man plans his way, but the Lord establishes his steps, Proverbs 16:9.

Since changing my work schedule from days to night two years ago, my sleeping patterns have been sporadic.  Sometimes I’ll find something on television that promotes sleep.  Unfortunately, good movies like a classic will peek my interest, causing to invest several hours viewing instead of sleeping.  Thus, in 2016 I have made a concerted effort reign in my daily routine.  Yet, early on I found myself picking up the clicker to check one of my favorite channels before I heard my conscience say, “why am I watching this?”

But do not overlook this one fact, beloved, that with the Lord one day is as a thousand years, and a thousand years as one day, 2 Peter 3:8.

Free will is a powerful weapon, often applied in misguided ways.  Nonetheless, God doesn’t force us to pray, go to church or read the Bible.  Therefore, if you want to break away from bad habits of the past, its not an easy venture.  However, the more I unplug from television and talk radio, the clearer my thoughts become.  While I’m not perfect and still have a long way to go, maybe you too may want to revisit your own daily schedule.  May the Holy Spirit guide you along the way, Galatians 5:25 as you replace the meaningless with power spiritual disciplines.

by Jay Mankus

Leave a Reply

