RSS Feed

What is the Best Response to the Homeless Standing at Major Intersections?

In the final hours of my fast, one thing is troubling me.  My response to the poor and needy have been lame.  Pretending I don’t see a few homeless begging for help  at major intersections isn’t the answer.  Nor is treating these people like a Food Stamp, “here’s a few  bucks, see you next month.”  Like an interactive poll on television, I’m asking my readers to chime in.  To provide an effective plan of action to homeless standing at major intersections.

Do not neglect to do good and to share what you have, for such sacrifices are pleasing to God, Hebrews 13:16.

The context to my dilemma began fifteen years ago.  While an independent contractor for the greater Philadelphia area, I saw hundreds of panhandlers daily.  On one occasion, I saw one of these individuals place his cardboard sign in the back seat, then drive off in a BMW.  Thus, I am still jaded.  I realize this is probably the exception to the reality of poverty.   Yet, I don’t have a solution, something I can apply daily to homeless standing at an intersection.

In all things I have shown you that by working hard in this way we must help the weak and remember the words of the Lord Jesus, how he himself said, “It is more blessed to give than to receive,” Acts 20:35.

I do know of a friend whose daughter started a care pack ministry, raising money to buy back packs filled with useful items.  These are given away when their family comes in contact with a new needy individual.  Beside this, I’m out of answers, seeking the wisdom of my audience to share useful courses of action.  Yet, for know, I am painfully reminded of the words of James 4:17, “If anyone, then, knows the good they ought to do and doesn’t do it, it is sin for them.”  May the insight of my visitors inspire me and others to join the battle to cure hunger.

Please add your two cents on my blog or Facebook.  I value your opinions.

by Jay Mankus

 

 

Leave a Reply

