RSS Feed

Making the Most of Blizzards

During my senior year of high school my parents planned a week long ski trip to Killington ski resort in Vermont.  Afraid I was going to miss too many days of school, I was left behind.  The next day the blizzard of 1987 closed school for a week.  When I was done shoveling the front sidewalk, I couldn’t see the road, blocked by six foot snow drifts.  So what do you do when your snowed in with no where to go?

There is nothing better for a person than that he should eat and drink and find enjoyment in his toil. This also, I saw, is from the hand of God, Ecclesiastes 2:24.

Fortunate for me, my childhood friend Jeanette lived across the street.  Whenever it snowed, each season provided an opportunity to create a series of trails down the hill in her front yard.  Once the slope was compacted, one of the dangers was dodging cars coming down the street, with one person keeping watch while the other was sledding.  These fond memories inspired me to continue this tradition today as a parent.

And the streets of the city shall be full of boys and girls playing in its streets, Zechariah 8:5.

Thus, when winter storm Jonas or the blizzard of 2016 dumped close to two feet of snow in my back yard, I couldn’t resist the chance to create a slope for the ages.  While the drop is only ten feet from the starting block to the ground, a luge like atmosphere shoots participants quickly into a turn that the United States Bobsled team would be proud of.  Anyway, the best way to most the most of a blizzard is to bring the fun to your backyard.  While the snow has melted in many places, I find enjoyment in my toils of building a backyard tubing paradise.

by Jay Mankus

Leave a Reply

