RSS Feed

What the Hell are You Doing?

Every so often I am surprised by something I hear.  Sometimes its a conversation, an interview or watching another star athlete get into trouble.  Yet, this morning as I was critiquing the driver’s in front of me, I heard God’s voice whisper to me, “what the hell are you doing?”

Be not quick in your spirit to become angry, for anger lodges in the bosom of fools, Ecclesiastes 7:9.

It’s easy to point the finger at others, exposing people’s flaws, imperfections and weaknesses.  However, when the criticism is pointed in your direction, its hard to accept.  Like a blind spot in a car’s mirror, I guess I’ve been carrying on with my life without seeing who or what I’ve become.  The best response to my growing impatience is “what the hell am I doing?”

Know this, my beloved brothers: let every person be quick to hear, slow to speak, slow to anger; James 1:19.

According to Solomon, my recent commentary of bad drivers is foolish.  While my mind thinks these observations are accurate, a first century apostle refers to my behavior as selfish and judgmental.  What I’m actually doing is being a poor example of Christ.  Thus, the next time you find yourself looking in the rear view mirror, wondering the the hell the driver behind you is doing, reflect on God’s Word, the Bible, to see how you can better represent Jesus in the the future.  Change now or you too may hear God say, “what the hell are you doing?”

by Jay Mankus

 

Leave a Reply

