RSS Feed

Is it Worth the Sleepless Nights?

I have a tendency to dream big, develop amazing visions that only someone who is rich and famous should possess.  Yet, I press on, taking a leap of faith, trying to maximize my time, pushing my God given talents to the limit, hoping that I will taste success one day soon.  However, a part of me still wonders, “is it worth the sleepless nights?”

For when dreams increase and words grow many, there is vanity; but God is the one you must fear, Ecclesiastes 5:7.

According to one of the wisest to ever walk the face of the earth, dreaming is something you should be weary of.  I’m assuming Solomon is referring to those individuals focusing on a life outside of God’s will in the passage above.  Ultimately, God is whom you should fear.  Nonetheless, my greatest fear is living an entire life without using the unique gifts God has blessed me with.  Therefore, I will continue to endure sleepless nights until I find my place in this world.

For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the LORD, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future, Jeremiah 29:11.

While some my think I’m nuts, I believe God allowed me to lose my teaching position so that I could begin to write movie scripts.  Five years later, I have completed three films, the last in record time, less than 11 months.  I’m not sure why I have received visions on a trilogy about the Devil’s invisible attacks on mankind, but I know I need to be faithful to this calling.  Where this leads me, only God knows.  For now, its off to the editing process and copy righting, before sending this script off to Hollywood.  Perhaps, this year is the one that will put me on the map.  If not, the only thing standing in my way of success is another sleepless night.

by Jay Mankus

 

 

Leave a Reply

