RSS Feed

Sharp, Sloppy or Somewhere in Between

After experiencing a mediocre 2015, I vowed to alter my priorities in 2016.  Early on I was sharp, starting each day off on the right foot with a quiet time in the Bible, prayer and workout sessions.  By the end of January, my daily routine had become second nature.  Yet, somewhere over the last month, I have gotten careless, allowing a lukewarm spirit to enter my soul.

Iron sharpens iron, and one man sharpens another, Proverbs 27:17.

Over the weekend, the verse above served as a reminder to what I was missing.  To remain sharp takes time, effort and being open to change.  While the average American can’t afford a personal trainer to keep you in shape, other believers can serve as a life coach.  Meeting together, interacting and talking walks together can be the boost or motivation to stop being sloppy and begin to maximize the life God has given you.

“I am the vine; you are the branches. If you remain in me and I in you, you will bear much fruit; apart from me you can do nothing,” John 15:5.

Like anything in life, everyone experiences cycles, periods where things clicks and phases where nothing flows.  So whether you are sharp, sloppy or somewhere in between, Jesus’ words in the gospel of John provides hope for those struggling.  The analogy within this passage illustrates God as a gardener who prunes those unproductive areas of our lives.  However, individuals must stay connected to the vine, Jesus, to remain sharp.  Therefore, if you feel like you can’t go any further or are sick of mediocre results, reach out to Jesus today and you will find life.

by Jay Mankus

Leave a Reply

