RSS Feed

Breaking it Down

If you are an avid sports fan like me, you probably enjoy watching post game shows following a favorite teams game.  After a win, you revel in watching the highlights that led to victory.  However, in defeat you want to know what happened; searching for the reason why your team lost as analysts break down the film.

I do not understand what I do. For what I want to do I do not do, but what I hate I do, Romans 7:15.

Unfortunately, the older I get, the more analytical I become.  Subsequently, I do the same thing with my own life, trying to point a finger on why I’m not getting the results I expect.  While some may consider this a waste of time, this is merely a way that I discern what I need to do different in the future.

Thanks be to God, who delivers me through Jesus Christ our Lord! So then, I myself in my mind am a slave to God’s law, but in my sinful nature a slave to the law of sin, Romans 7:25.

The breakdown to life on earth is pretty simple.  Mankind was on a path toward destruction, destined for hell.  Yet, this is where Jesus stepped in, taking the fall for every sin ever committed.  Thus, despite my own failed attempts to step out of trouble, the grace of God is available to those who believe.  May the Lord open your eyes as the Bible breaks down God’s plan for eternity.

by Jay Mankus

 

Leave a Reply

