RSS Feed

Famous Rants

L

Bombastic, scathing and passionate are words associated with rants.  As a sports fan, three stand out in particular.  After his team turned the ball five teams in defeat, Jim Mora responds to a reporter’s question, “playoffs, you’re talking about playoff; I just hope we win another game.”  Living just outside of Philadelphia, who can ever forget about Allen Iverson’s practice press conference, “we’re talking about practice, not a game.”  Last, but not least is Dennis Green’s tirade after blowing a 14 point lead on Monday Night Football against the Chicago Bears, “they are who we thought they were, but we let them off the hook.”

They will be paid back with harm for the harm they have done. Their idea of pleasure is to carouse in broad daylight. They are blots and blemishes, reveling in their pleasures while they feast with you, 2 Peter 2:13.

Prior to today, I never thought I would find a rant while reading the Bible, but that all changed after examining 2 Peter 2.  While writing this letter, it appears that something set Peter off.  Whether he was thinking about a specific individual or a collection who share the same mindset, Peter goes off, ripping into those who indulge their sinful nature.  For a moment, I thought I was reading a transcript of a famous press conference.  If only you tube existed back in the first century, this chapter would surely reach over a million hits.

With eyes full of adultery, they never stop sinning; they seduce the unstable; they are experts in greed—an accursed brood! – 2 Peter 2:14

When I grew up in Wilmington, Delaware, a slice of the south existed.  What I mean is that every one on our blocked looked after each other.  Subsequently, I didn’t just have my parents; any time I was out of line, a neighbor went off on me, correcting my bad and inappropriate behavior.  Unfortunately, if this occurred today there would be law suits, division and turmoil.  The more I think about this chapter, I believe Peter leaves behind a vital message.  If you want to rant about something, speak out about those things tearing people you love away from God.

by Jay Mankus

Leave a Reply

