RSS Feed

What Good is that Doing Anyone?

After failing to show the attitude necessary for being a good team mate, our coaching staff benched one of our starters last week.  The only problem is by doing so, this decision left us with only 8 players on the ball field.  However, sometimes you have to take a stand, hold your ground and send a message to a specific individual.

A cheerful heart is good medicine, but a crushed spirit dries up the bones, Proverbs 17:22.

In the film Hoosiers, Gene Hackman plays legendary coach Norm Dale.  Based upon a true story, this former college basketball coach running from a tainted past, tries to send a message to his new high school team.  As parents try to sway his coaching style, Dale disciplines a student who begins to play outside of his system.  When Hickory’s last remaining bench player fouls out, Dale decides to play the rest of the game with 4 players.

And whatever you do, whether in word or deed, do it all in the name of the Lord Jesus, giving thanks to God the Father through him, Colossians 3:17.

When one person becomes bigger than their group or team, people notice this.  However, in an age starving for leadership, few have the guts to sacrifice today for a better tomorrow.  This might explain why certain college programs are either under investigation or on probation for ethics violations, doing whatever it takes to win.  What good is this doing anyone unless truth prevails.  There is something far superior than instant gratification.  May the conviction of the Holy Spirit lead you to make the right decisions in the future.

by Jay Mankus

 

 

32 responses »

  1. Saved as a favorite, I love your blog!

    Like

    Reply
  2. Hello, Nice post. I’ll be your regular visitor.

    Like

    Reply
  3. Psychological intellect – Self-insight & the capability to moderate or manage
    one’s reactions to experience.

    Like

    Reply
  4. Nice post. I was checking continuously this weblog and I am inspired!
    Extremely helpful information particularly the last section 🙂 I take
    care of such information a lot. I was looking for this particular
    information for a long time. Thank you and good luck. http://www.sdjgjx.com/

    Like

    Reply
  5. When someone writes an paragraph he/she retains the image of a
    user in his/her brain that how a user can know it.

    So that’s why this paragraph is perfect. Thanks!

    Like

    Reply
  6. Thanks for the marvelous posting! I actually enjoyed
    reading it, you are a great author.I will ensure that
    I bookmark your blog and definitely will come back at some point.

    I want to encourage you to ultimately continue your great work, have a nice weekend!

    Like

    Reply
  7. Great delivery. Sound arguments. Keep up the amazing spirit.

    Like

    Reply
  8. Write more, thats all I have to say. Literally, it seems as though
    you relied on the video to make your point. You definitely know what youre talking about, why waste your intelligence on just posting videos to your site when you could
    be giving us something informative to read? http://markcarrier85.bcz.com/2016/12/29/car-games-is-your-worst-enemy-five-ways-to-defeat-it/

    Like

    Reply
  9. Awesome post many thanks! We think your content articles are great and
    hope there’ll be more soon.

    Like

    Reply
  10. Very good article friend, keep up the very good work, just shared this with my buddies

    Like

    Reply
  11. Do you mind if I quote a few of your articles as long
    as I provide credit and sources back to your weblog? My website is in the very same niche as yours and my users would
    truly benefit from a lot of the information you present here.
    Please let me know if this alright with you. Thanks! https://goo.gl/NDMUrd

    Like

    Reply
  12. Hello there, You’ve done a great job. I will definitely
    digg it and personally recommend to my friends.

    I am sure they will be benefited from this web site. https://homercenteno776.wordpress.com/2016/12/28/get-exuberant-with-pickup-and-he-10-games/

    Like

    Reply
  13. all the time i used to read smaller articles that as well clear their motive, and that is also happening
    with this paragraph which I am reading at this place.

    Like

    Reply
  14. Hi there! I just want to give you a huge thumbs up for your great
    info you have got here on this post. I’ll be coming
    back to your website for more soon.

    Like

    Reply
  15. Hi! I could have sworn I’ve been to this website before but after browsing through some of the post I realized it’s
    new to me. Anyhow, I’m definitely delighted I found
    it and I’ll be bookmarking and checking back often!

    Like

    Reply
  16. Howdy! This is my first visit to your blog! We are a collection of volunteers and starting a new initiative in a community in the same niche.
    Your blog provided us valuable information to work on. You have done a marvellous job!

    Like

    Reply
  17. I visited many web pages except the audio quality for audio songs existing at this web page is actually excellent.

    Like

    Reply
  18. I really like what you guys are usually up too.

    This kind of clever work and exposure! Keep up the excellent works guys I’ve included you guys to our blogroll. http://mykyiv.com.ua/?option=com_k2&view=itemlist&task=user&id=4382

    Like

    Reply
  19. I’m not that much of a internet reader to be honest
    but your blogs really nice, keep it up! I’ll go ahead and bookmark your website to come back later.
    Cheers

    Like

    Reply
  20. My brother recommended I might like this blog. He was totally right.
    This post actually made my day. You cann’t imagine simply how
    much time I had spent for this info! Thanks! http://ikreamos.com/component/k2/itemlist/user/1425

    Like

    Reply
  21. Hi there, just wanted to tell you, I loved this blog post.
    It waas funny. Keep on posting!

    Like

    Reply
  22. I have been browsing online more than three hours today,
    yet I never found any interesting article like yours.

    It’s pretty worth enough for me. In my opinion, if all website owners and bloggers made good content
    as you did, the internet will be a lot more useful than ever before.

    Like

    Reply
  23. You are an extremely persuasive writer. I can see this in your
    article. You have a way of writing persuasive information that sparks much interest.

    Like

    Reply
  24. Hey There. I found your blog using msn. This is an extremely well written article.
    I’ll be sure to bookmark it and return to read more of your useful information.
    Thanks for the post. I’ll certainly comeback. http://video.quayside.ru/component/k2/itemlist/user/893

    Like

    Reply
  25. I am sure this article has touched all the internet users, its really
    really good article on building up new blog.

    Like

    Reply
  26. Spot on with this write-up, I honeestly feel this website
    needs much more attention. I’ll probably be back again too see more, thanks for the information!

    Like

    Reply
  27. I’m really glad to find this website on bing, just what I was
    trying to find. Saved to bookmarks.

    Like

    Reply
  28. Hello there, had alert to your blog through Google, and found that it’s really interesting.
    I’ll be happy if you continue this in future.

    Like

    Reply
  29. Oh my goodness! a great article man. Thanks a ton!

    Like

    Reply
  30. Enjoying the info on this web site, you have done a terrific job on the blog posts.

    Like

    Reply
  31. Thanks a lot for sharing this great info! I’m excited to see more blog posts!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

