RSS Feed

Believe It or Not?

One of the first books I read for fun outside of school was written by Daniel Cohen.  I don’t remember the title, but this piece studied eyewitness accounts of Bigfoot, the Loch Ness Monster and other unusual encounters.  Going to Ripley’s Believe It or Not Exhibits as a teenager only fostered my interest in unsolved mysteries.  While the debate continues on some of these unknown creatures, sooner or later you have to reach a decision; to believe it or not.

The angel of the Lord encamps around those who fear him, and delivers them, Psalm 34:7

As an adult, I’ve experienced things that can only be described as supernatural.  Initially, I didn’t give much thought to some of these events.  Yet, after attending a conference on discernment, studying the Bible and seeking the council of elder believers, I can’t deny the existence of angels.  While I’ve never entertained an angel like some Americans, there have been moments where I avoided an accident, steered clear of danger and escaped a difficult situation.  How can I be so sure you may ask?  Well, I’ve reached a stage in life where I have come to the conclusion that I simply believe.

For this very night there stood before me an angel of the God to whom I belong and whom I worship, Acts 27:23.

The Christian Rock Group David and the Giants devote an entire album to this topic in Angels Unaware.  Beyond the physical realm, angels are fueled by prayer, ushered into action by diligent saints.  Miracles occur daily, often going unnoticed by those who are rescued and or saved from harm.  On bended knees, angels are empowered as promises in the Bible are verbally lifted up, usually inspiring God to immediate act by sending guardian angels.  I’m not forcing you to believe in angels.  Yet, at some point you must decide; to believe it or not.

by Jay Mankus

 

Leave a Reply

