RSS Feed

I Choose to Believe

One of the names ascribed to Lucifer in the Bible is the angel of music or song.  This nick name has led Bible scholars to claim the Devil uses secular music to corrupt the hearts and minds of countless individuals.  While this may be true to a certain extent, there are plenty of wholesome songs that I have come across which do just the opposite.  Several of these contemporary artists either elevate the faith of Christian or encourage some to believe.

You were anointed as a guardian cherub, for so I ordained you. You were on the holy mount of God; you walked among the fiery stones.  You were blameless in your ways from the day you were created till wickedness was found in you, Ezekiel 28:14-15.

In my life, music plays a vital role in the ebbs and flows that I experience.  Although I go through periods of disappointment, unable to find the right song for the difficult stretch in life, artists, ballets and songs can arrive just in the nick of time.  As I struggle to come to grips with my son’s Diabetes diagnosis, I was reminded of an album I purchased earlier in the year.  When I heard this Phillips, Craig and Dean’s song on my birthday, I knew just what to do.

Jesus straightened up and asked her, “Woman, where are they? Has no one condemned you?”  “No one, sir,” she said. “Then neither do I condemn you,” Jesus declared. “Go now and leave your life of sin,” John 8:11-12.

The ballet “I choose to believe” talks about how one phone call can change your life.  One day everything is fine and the next your world is turned upside down.  Yet, within the emotions of the trial standing in your way, everyone has a decision to make.  In the case of a woman caught in adultery, she was on death row, about to be executed when a young lawyer named Jesus intervened.  I don’t think she was hopeful early on, yet at the end her life was saved.  In the same way, I still have my health and my family.  While I may not have the money to cover all the added expenses, I simply choose to believe.

by Jay Mankus

Leave a Reply

