RSS Feed

Faith vs. Science

When my son was admitted to A.I. Dupont Children’s Hospital in early August, my faith was put to the test.  After Daniel’s diagnosis of Type 1 Diabetes, there is a set of requirements made by doctors and staff for parents which must be met prior to releasing your child.  Beside viewing a series of videos, parents must meet with a nutritionist, psychologist and social worker.  During my final conversation, I was asked about how I was doing.  My response,”it is what it is.”

And without faith it is impossible to please him, for whoever would draw near to God must believe that he exists and that he rewards those who seek him, Hebrews 11:6.

What I meant is that my heart is holding out hope that Daniel’s pancreas will be supernaturally restored to its previous working condition.  Yet, statistics suggest there is only a three percent chance of this miracle occurring.  Subsequently, I am wrestling with what could be through the power of prayer and what is based upon science.  As a believer I don’t want to ignore past answered prayers, but I don’t want to set myself up for disappointment with the odds of healing stacked against me.

Now faith is the assurance of things hoped for, the conviction of things not seen, Hebrews 11:1.

One of Hollywood’s best examples of this dilemma can be found in an episode from Lost entitled Man of Science, Man of Faith.  In the season 2 debut, Dr. Jack Shepherd has a flash back of a previous surgery.  A woman named Claire is being prepped for major back surgery following a car accident.  Talking with her fiancee, Jack is bluntly honest suggesting there is little hope of ever being able to walk again, likely paralyzed for the rest of her life.  However, upon examination of Claire after the surgery, Jack realizes that science lost and faith won.  Whatever trial stands in your way, may the power of the Holy Spirit lift you up as you await answers to your concerns and troubles in life.

by Jay Mankus

 

 

Leave a Reply

