RSS Feed

Clinging to the Vine

If you have ever tried to climb a tree, it doesn’t take make to lose your grip.  Any type of misstep, re-positioning or weak branch can start an unexpected descent.  During a recent adventure of trying to dislodge an arrant Frisbee from a tree, I found myself in a free fall reaching out for anything that would break my fall.

“I am the vine; you are the branches. If you remain in me and I in you, you will bear much fruit; apart from me you can do nothing,” John 15:5.

In the spiritual realm, I’ve faced myself in similar downward spirals where in moments of weakness I have tried to cling to the Vine.  According to one of his disciples, Jesus is compared to a vine, the life source to which branches are attached.  However, once broken or cut off, these limbs are worthless, unable to protect you from spiritual harm.

If you do not remain in me, you are like a branch that is thrown away and withers; such branches are picked up, thrown into the fire and burned, John 15:6.

Subtle signs, also known as acts of the flesh, Galatians 5:19-21 often rear their ugly heads when individuals try to live apart from the Vine.  Acts, behavior and character gradually declines, transforming decent human being into completely different people.  Before this sinister force takes roots, its essential to become reconnected to Jesus.  Bible Study, prayer and worship are daily avenues to reunite you with the Lord.  If you feel like your faith is wavering, don’t let it continue.  Rather, cling to the Vine and connect with like minded followers who seek to fulfill the great commission, Mark 16:15.

by Jay Mankus

Leave a Reply

