RSS Feed

My Blind Spot

The other night at work I avoided a woman pushing a cart filled with boxes taller than herself.  Expecting the worst, I jumped out of her oncoming path.  When she finally saw me I was greeted by, “I’m sorry, you were in my blind spot.”

But if anyone walks in the night, he stumbles, because the light is not in him, John 11:10.

Little did this lady know that 24 hours later I would be dealing with my own blind spots.  Unfortunately, a series of test over the last 2 weeks have revealed I can’t see that far on either side of my right eye.  Perhaps my eye surgery will improve this condition or keep it from deteriorating.  Either way blind spots are a way of life.

To give light to those who sit in darkness and in the shadow of death, to guide our feet into the way of peace, Luke 1:79.

In the spiritual realm, addiction, bad habits and poor choices blind people from their imperfections.  These warts don’t go away, especially when others enable individuals to justify inappropriate behavior.  Whenever anyone reaches this point, its essential to remember Jesus’ words, to leave darkness by coming to the light through confession.  While physical blind spots will always exist, may you come to the light so that healing will begin.

by Jay Mankus

Leave a Reply

