RSS Feed

Fostering Love

The concept of foster care in the United States was inspired by Charles Loring Brace.  In the middle of the 19th century, Brace’s heart was torn by the thousands of homeless children living in the slums of New York City.  Brace believed that these children would do much better if placed into a farm setting with Christian families living in the country.  Thus, the Orphan Train movement was born, transporting more than 100,00 children from 1853-1890.

Whoever would foster love covers over an offense, but whoever repeats the matter separates close friends, Proverbs 17:9.

In the Old Testament, King Solomon encouraged the Israelites to foster love.  Anyone can point out someone’s flaws.  Yet, when attacked human beings tend to go on the defensive. Whether words spoken are in the form of exaggerations, in gest or gossip, any brash decision usually divides and separates relationships.  Therefore, when push comes to shove, its better to foster love by overlooking any offense against you.

If I speak in the tongues of men or of angels, but do not have love, I am only a resounding gong or a clanging cymbal.  If I have the gift of prophecy and can fathom all mysteries and all knowledge, and if I have a faith that can move mountains, but do not have love, I am nothing.  If I give all I possess to the poor and give over my body to hardship that I may boast, but do not have love, I gain nothing, 1 Corinthians 13:1-3.

The apostle Paul addresses a similar issue during the first century.  Unfortunately, love was becoming just another word, void of meaning.  In their prime, DC Talk sang above Love is a Verb.  Love is meant to be exercised through selfless acts.  Sure, family may verbalize their love but without any sincere demonstration these terms of endearment are empty.  In view of the negativity fueled by a press upset after their candidate didn’t become president elect, turn the other cheek by fostering love.

by Jay Mankus

 

3 responses »

  1. I like what you guys are up also. Such smart work and reporting! Carry on the superb works guys I have incorporated you guys to my blogroll. I think it’ll improve the value of my website 🙂

    Like

    Reply
  2. I used to be suggested this blog by means of my cousin. I’m no longer sure whether or not this submit is written via him as nobody else know such certain approximately my trouble. You are amazing! Thanks!

    Like

    Reply
  3. There are some interesting points in time in this article but I don’t know if I see all of them center to heart.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

