RSS Feed

Thankfulness in the Midst of Adversity

The human spirit can handle many things in life.  When knocked down by disappointment, failure or rejection, the hope of a better future enables individuals to get up.  Yet, at some point the psyche can only take so much.  Thus, if a spirit becomes crushed, its difficult to be thankful in the midst of adversity.

The human spirit can endure in sickness, but a crushed spirit who can bear? – Proverbs 18:14

The passage above written by King Solomon summarizes 2016 for me up to this point.  Although the start of this year went well, the ending has been like a nightmare that you can’t get out of your head.  While my screen writing project failed to be embraced by Hollywood, a more serious situation developed.  In early August, my youngest son was diagnosed with Type 1 Diabetes that has zapped his energy.  The hardest thing for a parent is wanting to do something to make things better, yet helpless and unable to intervene.

Do not be anxious about anything, but in every situation, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God, Philippians 4:6.

The apostle Paul provides direction for those void of a thankful heart.  When you can’t make a difference, the Lord uses prayer as a vehicle for change.  Thus, I am thankful for the life that I have, not the one I want.  Perhaps, circumstances will turn around soon as I concentrate on prayer.  Even so, I can be thankful in the midst of adversity, especially when I consider my marriage of twenty one years with Leanne which I celebrate every Thanksgiving.

by Jay Mankus

Leave a Reply

