RSS Feed

When You Run Out of Words to Say

As someone who clings to pray, I experience many days where I draw a blank.  Unable to come up with the words to express what I’m feeling, I pause, wondering where to go next.  Unfortunately, no matter how hard I try, I don’t have the gift of conversation.  Sure, I have my hot button issues that friends may tell me to shut up or change the topic.  Nonetheless, most of the time I am tapped out, running out of words to say.

And I will give them one heart, and a new spirit I will put within them. I will remove the heart of stone from their flesh and give them a heart of flesh, Ezekiel 11:19.

When it comes to prayer, some people truly have a gift.  As these individuals open their mouth, words flow freely as it God is in room with them.  Trying to follow anyone like this in a prayer group can be humbling, spitting out whatever comes to my mind.  Yet, there is much to learn from those who possess the gift of prayer.  Asking, probing and seeking wisdom is a great place to start, especially if you struggle like me to come up with words to lift up to God as you pray.

For where your treasure is, there your heart will be also, Luke 12:34.

Several years ago I attended a Bible Study with a couple of doctors.  One was a physician and the other a vet.  One thing I took away from these interactions was the need to focus on a specific word when you pray.  When my eye was beginning to revert back to its pre-surgery state the word regeneration came to my mind.  Immediately, I began to ask God to regenerate the cells within my eyes, to restore that which was lost.  Suddenly, I noticed a quick improvement.  Although my eye hasn’t been completely restored, when you run out of words to say in the future, narrow in on a key word and pray with faith for a miracle.

by Jay Mankus

Leave a Reply

