RSS Feed

Be Grateful For What You Have; Not What You’ve Lost

In my first year as a high school teacher, I stayed up well past midnight preparing for the next day.  While attempting to create challenging lesson plans, I overlooked one important truth.  This quest for perfection often left me feeling empty as the good was overshadowed by negative reactions by parents and students.  Instead of being grateful for what I had accomplished, my heart, soul and mind spent most of the time focusing on what I had lost.

Give thanks in all circumstances; for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus for you, 1 Thessalonians 5:18.

A little more older and wise now, writing this blog has helped transform my perspective.  Rather than worry about the next issue, subject and topic I am going to address, the Lord has given me a sense of peace, knowing that somehow, someway God will provide new ideas.  Whether I’m reading an article waiting for my next eye doctor appointment, listening to talk radio or watching television, interesting concepts continue to flow.

In all things I have shown you that by working hard in this way we must help the weak and remember the words of the Lord Jesus, how he himself said, ‘It is more blessed to give than to receive, Acts 20:35.

After not being able to sleep on Christmas Eve, I stumbled upon a documentary aired on the Golf Channel about former British Open Champion Darren Clarke.  Labeled as one of the best tour players not to win a major, Clarke faced something more important winning a golf tournament.  When Darren’s wife Heather was diagnosed with Breast Cancer for the second time, she succumb to this disease in 2006.  Always staying positive to the end, Heather left behind a message to visitor’s of her tombstone.  “Be Grateful For What You Have; Not What You’ve Lost.”  May these words inspire you to apply this mindset in 2017.

by Jay Mankus

 

Leave a Reply

