RSS Feed

Lulling Yourself to Sleep

There is an epidemic occurring across America and throughout the world.  At the beginning of every New Year, conviction, consciences and desperation lead many to make resolutions for change.  Unfortunately, like a diet that never makes it beyond the first week, a lack of action is lulling many to sleep.

Behold! I tell you a mystery. We shall not all sleep, but we shall all be changed, 1 Corinthians 15:51.

This week I found myself saying the same thing day after day, “I need to do this or that.”  Comfortably numb by bad habits, I feel paralyzed, unable to apply that which I desire.  Anyone who attempts to become transformed externally without a changed heart will regularly experience failure.  The passage above suggests that individuals need to die to one’s self before a resurrected life takes shape.

I do not understand what I do. For what I want to do I do not do, but what I hate I do, Romans 7:15.

Despite an amazing ministry on earth, even the apostle Paul could not defeat all of his inner demons.  2 Corinthians 12:7-12 refers to some sort of illness, medical condition or addiction which Paul count not overcome.  While I often feel held captive by a poor daily routine, I’m tired of being lulled to sleep.  Before you fret any longer, call out to Jesus to set yourself free from a mundane life so that through the power of the resurrection you might achieve new heights in 2017.

by Jay Mankus

Leave a Reply

