RSS Feed

What Got You Here Won’t Get You There

No matter how blessed, gifted or talented you are, everyone will reach their summit, taking you as high as you can go.  While you may enjoy the view of accomplishments, success and victory, a time will come to reset by evaluating future dreams and goals in life.  The older you become, there’s one nugget of truth that will rise to the surface: what got you here won’t get you there.

Fear not, for I am with you; be not dismayed, for I am your God; I will strengthen you, I will help you, I will uphold you with my righteous right hand, Isaiah 41:10.

The world refers to this as coming to a crossroads in life.  The confused may not know which path to take.  The exhausted need a break, a period of rest before starting a new journey.  Meanwhile, the aged have developed minor restrictions which make some directions impossible to achieve alone.  Subsequently, someone, something or divine intervention is necessary to climb the largest mountain you have ever faced.

The Lord will fight for you, and you have only to be silent, Exodus 14:14.

Deep inside my soul, God has placed upon me a desire to remain optimistic about the future despite whatever cliff I have to climb.  Yet, I know my limitations, lacking the energy of my youth.  Trying to ascend to the top would be foolish.  Rather, without faith in the God above and the power of the Holy Spirit, success is impossible.  However, in my weakness I firmly believe that God will be able to take me where I have previously been unable to get.  May the Lord use the apostle Paul’s words in 2 Corinthians 12:7-12 as a source of inspiration to reach new spiritual heights.

by Jay Mankus

Leave a Reply

