RSS Feed

Developing a Peak Vision

Last Sunday, I made my way toward Sharp Top Mountain, the second highest point in the state of Virginia.  After church my family took the 30 minute ride toward the summit.  The closer I drove to the mountain, the more challenging this climb became.  The longer I gazed at the peak, the less confident I grew, doubting if I had the strength to make it to the top.

When anyone hears the message about the kingdom and does not understand it, the evil one comes and snatches away what was sown in their heart. This is the seed sown along the path, Matthew 13:19.

The parable of the weeds relates to my 1.6 mile hike.  Around every corner, above each rise and over the various hairpin turns, distractions lurk.  Fear, pain and time whisper ideas of stopping or quitting before you reach your desired destination.  Unless you possess a peak vision, the human mind will allow temptation to steal your joy of accomplishment in life.

The seed falling among the thorns refers to someone who hears the word, but the worries of this life and the deceitfulness of wealth choke the word, making it unfruitful, Matthew 13:22.

My younger son Daniel set the pace on the trail, filled with excitement the closer we got.  His energy keep me going, placing any temporary aches and pain on hold until we arrived.  Meanwhile, an hour behind, my oldest son James and niece Rachael prodded my wife, unwilling to let her quit before reaching the summit.  While this journey made me aware of my poor condition and overall shape of my body, the moral of this blog is that sometimes you need others to push you along the way until your peak vision is fulfilled.

by Jay Mankus

Leave a Reply

