RSS Feed

The End of an Era

On February 23rd, Family Christian Bookstores announced that all 240 stores were going out of business.  The dominance of Amazon and popularity of i-tunes was too much to compete with over time.  When you add in the fact that only 3 out of 10 Christians ever visited these stores, I guess you can say they were destined to fail.  As for me, this eliminates my monthly experience of exploring, listening and purchasing new music.

I will sing to the Lord as long as I live; I will sing praise to my God while I have being, Psalm 104:33.

Prior to college, the majority of my music collection was secular.  However, this all changed when I was introduced to the Sonshine House, a Christian music store 15 minutes from campus.  The former owner, Jackie Johnson, was a good sport, regularly listening to me sing a chorus of a song before leading me to the actual artist and album.  Jackie’s passion rubbed off on me, resulting in 3 decades of pursuing inspirational music.

Addressing one another in psalms and hymns and spiritual songs, singing and making melody to the Lord with your heart, Ephesians 5:19.

Although I am not sure where I am going to go to keep up with cutting edge artists, I won’t allow this hobby to die.  One of my goals in life was to run my own Christian Radio Station, creating a business plan, call letters and weekly programming.  Yet. after the FCC updated the fees for playing songs to a third party, this added expense wasn’t worth the investment.  While one era comes to an end, I pray that Christians will develop another avenue to allow aspiring artists, bands and musicians to flourish by sharing their God-given talents.  In addition, I will continue to  share you tubes of these artists whose song enhances each blog title.

by Jay Mankus

 

 

Leave a Reply

