RSS Feed

Entitle…mints

Infants spend the first few years of life eating and sleeping.  Shortly after this stage, crawling, walking and talking takes over their attention.  Yet, the sweet taste of mints, either with chocolate or pure sugar, leaves a longing that many children never forget.  This apparent harmless taste gives birth to a powerful force that few can tame.

For the desires of the flesh are against the Spirit, and the desires of the Spirit are against the flesh, for these are opposed to each other, to keep you from doing the things you want to do, Galatians 5:17.

Several authors of the Bible refer to an inner desire at odds with God.  Like an infant craving milk, if you don’t get what you want, anger erupts in the form of crying.  While adults are suppose to grow out of adolescence, occasional tantrums still exist.  When expectations aren’t met or satisfied, fits of rage replace childish rants of the past.

When I was a child, I talked like a child, I thought like a child, I reasoned like a child. When I became a man, I put the ways of childhood behind me, 1 Corinthians 13:11.

Perhaps, this sinful pattern inspired the words written above.  A sense of entitlement trains minds to believe “this belongs to me, I deserve this and that’s mine.”  Despite growing up physically, letting go of entitle mints is a tough habit to break.  This vicious cycle causes growing pains to continue throughout life no matter how old you become.  Nonetheless, I still strive to put aside childish ways so that I can become the man God wants me to be.

by Jay Mankus

Leave a Reply

