RSS Feed

Under Appreciated

As I race to complete my movie script for Hollywood’s premiere screen writers competition, I was recently overwhelmed by a wave of emotions.  While retracing my steps through my days in high school, I was struck by how good my life has been.  The reason for this joy are the countless individuals I have crossed paths with.  Unfortunately, when I was younger immaturity prevented me from appreciating the friends who touched my life.

Let the word of Christ dwell in you richly, teaching and admonishing one another in all wisdom, singing psalms and hymns and spiritual songs, with thankfulness in your hearts to God, Colossians 3:16.

In the rat race called life, its easy to lose sight on what’s important.  Whether its pursuing a career, chasing a dream or providing for your family, special moments can be overlooked.  Anxiety, stress and worry prevent people from seeing the blessings God has provided.  If you continue on this path, distracted by the negative aspects in life, you will follow in my footsteps, under appreciating special individuals.

The Lord bless you and keep you; the Lord make his face to shine upon you and be gracious to you; the Lord lift up his countenance upon you and give you peace, Numbers 6:24-26.

Apathy is an invisible force which attributes to under appreciation.  Like a spell cast on an unwilling soul, boredom and laziness prey on selfish desires.  Unless you become alert, by keeping in step with the Holy Spirit, Galatians 5:25, you could become the next victim.  In view of this, may the Lord give you a heart of appreciation so that those around you will receive the thanks that they deserve.

by Jay Mankus

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

