RSS Feed

A Stress Reliever

One of the most stressful things for me as a parent is watching my kids participate in sports.  Although some my debate on which is the most grueling to observe, golf must be in the top 3.  There aren’t any time outs, teammates to blame or walls to keep your ball in play.  When you start to fall apart in a stroke play event, there’s no place to hide.  This tension can consume any parent, filling the calmest individual with stress.

Cast your burden on the Lord, and he will sustain you; he will never permit the righteous to be moved, Psalm 55:22.

While I am usually laid back, this past week I found myself in the middle of an anxiety attack.  I guess it didn’t help that youngest son decided to finish his last 5 holes with 2 quadruple bogeys and 2 double bogeys.  Nonetheless, I should have had a better plan to cope with stress.  Some sort of stress reliever to ease the anguish within my soul.

Do not be anxious about anything, but in everything by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be made known to God, Philippians 4:6.

Yesterday, a light bulb went off in my mind.  Why am I worrying myself to death when I can lift up individual prayers to God.  Since this revelation, I have turned moments of tension into a stress reliever, praying for the helpless situations that I encounter.  If parents turn to the Lord with their troubles, then you too can begin practicing the stress reliever called prayer.

by Jay Mankus

 

One response »

  1. Qwerty McDougal

    Well said and a good reminder to keep prayer as our default “stress reliever”

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

