RSS Feed

A Spiritual Walk with Friends

Talking a walk after dinner was a popular form of exercise 25 years ago.  This trend became a special way to occupy time with good friends.  As I reflect upon my life, 3 spiritual walks stick out.  The first occurred with Liz and Dave, two friends I met through Chrysalis and the Walk to Emmaus movements.  When you began any walk, you never what is going to be discussed.  On this late night stroll, a spiritual of confession took over as one by one each confessed secret scars from the past.  Confessing deep, dark sins served as a form of healing which formed a bond that lasted for years.

Now that same day two of them were going to a village called Emmaus, about seven miles from Jerusalem, Luke 24:13.

A few years later I got together with a friend who became the best man in my wedding.  On this specific night, I thought we would walk a few miles.  Fifteen miles later, I wore out a brand new pair of shoes as an accountability relationship took flight.  After we both got married, Dave and I spent one night a week walking several miles throughout the city of Newark.  No matter what was going on, each of us withdrew from the hustle and bustle of life to express the concerns on our hearts.

They were talking with each other about everything that had happened.  As they talked and discussed these things with each other, Jesus himself came up and walked along with them; but they were kept from recognizing him, Luke 24:14-16.

The most memorable conversation while walking will be a chapter in a book that will go along with my movie Express Yourself.  When I was dating Leanne, one Saturday afternoon we walked around the city of Neenah, Wisconsin.  Since I didn’t want there to be any surprises, I shared my life story for hours walking hand and hand.  I’m not sure how many miles were logged, but this day served as a foundation of trust in our relationship.  While I don’t have the energy of my youth, it’s never too late to partake in a spiritual walk with friends.

by Jay Mankus

Leave a Reply

