RSS Feed

The Audition

When you are young, people often try new things to see if it’s something worth pursuing in the future.  Well, my acting career was a short blimp on the radar screen.  I tried out for my high school musical during my junior year.  Hoping to earn a part in West Side Story, I knew my chances were slim after I heard one of the judges whisper, “there’s always the stage crew.”  While this audition ended in disappointment, life is full of auditions.

And thus I make it my ambition to preach the gospel, not where Christ has already been named, lest I build on someone else’s foundation, Romans 15:20.

Following his conversion to Christ, Saul from Tarsus radically changed his priorities.  After a time of soul searching, this former religious zealot auditioned to become an apostle.  Initially rejected by the 11 remaining disciples, Saul changed his name to Paul before teaming up with Barnabas for a few successful missionary journeys.  Paul’s ambition to share the good news about Jesus Christ won his skeptics over through an unswerving faith.

“After a long time the master of those servants returned and settled accounts with them, ” Matthew 25:19.

According to the Parable of the Talents, each day serves as an audition for heaven.  On Judgement Day, Jesus will return to judge the living and the dead.  This audition is based upon how often and well you maximize the gifts God has given you.  In modern terms, the Lord is searching for individuals who seize each day, making the most of each opportunity.  Although there will be days lost and squandered due to selfish desires, it’s essential to try and try again.  May this blog inspire you to be prepared for the audition called life.

by Jay Mankus

 

 

One response »

  1. Fantastic beat ! I would like to apprentice while you amend your web site, how can i subscribe for a blog website? The account helped me a acceptable deal. I had been a little bit acquainted of this your broadcast provided bright clear idea

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

