RSS Feed

Cherish Every Breath

As a teenager I attended funerals of classmates who committed suicide.  A few decades later, I went to wakes of former students that I taught whose lives were cut short by cancer.  Yesterday, I came face to face with death, saying goodbye to my cousin Billy who died suddenly last week.

The thief comes only to steal and kill and destroy. I came that they may have life and have it abundantly, John 10:10.

Born three months before me, Billy is the first member of my father’s side of the family to pass away since my grandmother died twenty years ago.  As I paid my final respect to Billy before the casket was closed, I felt as if I could be next.  Thus, I am compelled to value and cherish every breath that I take.

For whoever would save his life will lose it, but whoever loses his life for my sake will find it, Matthew 16:25.

When the busyness of life consumes you, it’s easy to become distracted from what really matters.  Unfortunately, it usually takes some sort of tragedy to snap you out of this malaise.  Despite what you need to do to pay your monthly bills, make sure you don’t lose sight of the frailty of life.  Rather, open your eyes, look around and cherish each day on earth the Lord provides.

by Jay Mankus

 

2 responses »

  1. I’m so sorry about Billy… How awful. Thank you for the reminder to focus on what really matters – spending time with loved ones and making the most of every moment.

    Like

    Reply
  2. Thank you, I’ve just been searching for information about this topic for ages and yours is the best I’ve discovered till now. But, what about the conclusion? Are you sure about the source?

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

